The Sign of the Four

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Book Description

The Sign of the four is a collection of 12 stories, originally published in 1903–1904, by British writer Arthur Conan Doyle. If we consider the characteristics of the main character Sherlock Holmes, then we can see he is a sharp‐witted man with a reputation for his excellent powers of deduction. A highly rational person who does not approve of emotions. Dr John Watson is the narrator of the story, he adds human feelings to the events. He falls in love with Mary and asks her to marry him. In it the detective and his companion Dr Watson untangle a mystery of hidden treasure and murder. Miss Mary Morstan arrives at 221B, Baker Street to request help with the mystery of her missing father, her anonymous gifts of pearls and a letter requesting her to meet an unknown person that evening. Holmes takes on her case and the adventure begins. Watson narrates the tale that sees the detective tracking down hidden treasure and murderers. By the end of the story the criminals are either dead or arrested, and Miss Mary Morstan and Watson are engaged to be married.

Log in to write your own review


No book reviews as yet.

Log in to write your comments


No comments as yet.

Log in to write your story


No stories as yet.

Log in to submit your image


These are the images or drawings related to the book sent by our users. If you would like to submit drawings and images, use the form above.

No images or books as yet.

No sheets as yet.